CCG Information

Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCGs) were created following the Health and Social Care Act in 2012. CCGs are clinically-led statutory NHS bodies responsible for the planning and commissioning of health care services for their local area. There are now 209 CCGs in England.

Commissioning is about getting the best possible health outcomes for the local population, by assessing local needs, deciding priorities and strategies, and then buying services on behalf of the population from providers such as hospitals, clinics, community health bodies, etc. It is an ongoing process, and CCGs must constantly respond and adapt to changing local circumstances. CCGs are responsible for the health of their entire population, and are measured by how much they improve outcomes.

CCGs are:

  • Membership bodies, with local GP practices as the members;
  • Led by an elected Governing Body made up of GPs, other clinicians including a nurse and a secondary care consultant, and lay members;
  • Responsible for about 60% of the NHS budget; or £60 billion per year;
  • Responsible for healthcare commissioning such as mental health services, urgent and emergency care, elective hospital services, and community care;
  • Independent, and accountable to the Secretary of State for Health through NHS England;
  • Responsible for the health of populations ranging from under 100,000 to 900,000, although the average population covered by a CCG is about a quarter of a million people.

Suffolk has 3 CCGs operating  across the county and the LPC has regular dialogue with them all on service development opportunities and current local issues.

Ipswich and East Suffolk CCG

east ip ccg pageNHS Ipswich and East Suffolk Clinical Commissioning Group (CCG) is a group of 41 GP practices in Ipswich and the eastern part of Suffolk.

The CCG is responsible for commissioning and managing patients health care.  The Governing Body of the CCG includes seven local GPs from across the Ipswich and east Suffolk area.  Additionally, the Governing Body includes a secondary care doctor, a “patient and public involvement” lay member and an “audit and governance” lay member.

To visit the Ipswich and East Suffolk CCG website, please click on this link

West Suffolk CCG

nhs-West-Suffolk1pageWest Suffolk Clinical Commissioning Group

The CCG is a team of GPs and health professionals working on behalf of all GPs in west Suffolk. They have full responsibility to buy and manage health care for the local residents in the WSCCG area, which stretches from Sudbury, Haverhill, Brandon and Stanton to Botesdale, Woolpit and Newmarket.

To visit the West Suffolk CCG website, please click on this link

Norfolk and Waveney CCG

Norfolk and Waveney Clinical Commissioning Group   

NHS Norfolk and Waveney Clinical Commissioning Group (CCG) was launched on 1 April 2020.

It was formed following the merger of the NHS CCGs for Norwich, North Norfolk, South Norfolk, West Norfolk, and Great Yarmouth and Waveney.

They work in partnership with other organisations, such as local councils and the voluntary sector, to improve the health and wellbeing of the residents.

To visit the N&W CCG website, please click on this link